Range does not come from ampere-hours. It comes from watt-hours, which is voltage multiplied by capacity, and most listings in this category bury that number or leave it out entirely. We compared twelve packs for the best electric bike batteries for long range, checking stated energy, cell pedigree, discharge headroom, weight, cycle life and the fitment traps that quietly void returns.
The short version: the 52V 20Ah Varstrom pack carries the highest stated energy in this group at 1040Wh, the 48V 17.5Ah Reention Dorado Plus replacement is the strongest all-round buy, and the 960Wh Varstrom 48V pack is the value pick for anyone running a mid-drive conversion. Everything else falls into either a bike-specific drop-in slot or a 72V build that needs its own controller.
Over the past six weeks we worked through spec sheets, warranty language and the recurring complaints in buyer reviews, then cross-checked each pack against the controller limits that decide whether it will actually fit. 2026 is the year of this roundup, and we updated the picks as new revisions landed. Every pack below is scored on the same four measures: usable energy, cell pedigree, protection scheme and fitment certainty.
Table of Contents
Top 3 Picks for Long-Range E-Bike Batteries (October 2026)
Quick Overview: All 12 Packs Side by Side in 2026
| Product | Specs | Action |
|---|---|---|
SDTYYP Reention Dorado Plus 48V 17.5Ah |
|
Check Latest Price |
Varstrom 52V 20Ah |
|
Check Latest Price |
Varstrom 48V 20Ah |
|
Check Latest Price |
Unit Pack Power 48V 20Ah |
|
Check Latest Price |
YOSE POWER 48V 15Ah Silverfish |
|
Check Latest Price |
LFPNERYE 48V 15Ah |
|
Check Latest Price |
ShunTongDa 48V 14Ah for Rad |
|
Check Latest Price |
YOSE POWER 36V 13Ah for Jasion EB5 |
|
Check Latest Price |
YOSE POWER 48V 15.6Ah for ECOTRIC Hammer |
|
Check Latest Price |
DICHOU 48V 20Ah Conversion Pack |
|
Check Latest Price |
Cymoye 72V 20Ah LiFePO4 |
|
Check Latest Price |
BtrPower 72V 45Ah LiFePO4 |
|
Check Latest Price |
Which Battery Actually Gives the Most Range?
Watt-hours are the only fair cross-brand comparison, because an ampere-hour rating means nothing without the voltage sitting next to it. A 48V 20Ah pack holds 960Wh; a 72V 20Ah pack holds 1440Wh; a 36V 13Ah pack holds 481Wh. Same chemistry family, very different distances between charges.
Roughly 80 to 90 percent of nameplate watt-hours is usable in practice, because the BMS cuts discharge before the cells are empty and because you rarely finish a ride at zero. From there, estimate distance by dividing usable watt-hours by your own consumption per mile, which you can only get from a real ride. Rider weight, assist level, terrain, tyre pressure and stop-start traffic all move that number more than the pack brand does.
Forum riders make the same point constantly: a single advertised range figure is not information. Cold mornings cut usable capacity further, and steep climbing draws far more power than flat riding. Treat any quoted range as the optimistic end of a band, and size your pack against the worst ride you actually plan.
1. SDTYYP Reention Dorado Plus 48V 17.5Ah – Best Overall Long Range Ebike Battery
SDTYYP (2-5 Days delivery) 48V 17.5Ah Reention Dorado Plus 460mm e-Bike Battery Pack for e-Bike Removable Lithium Battery Power 840W with 30A BMS and Charger
48V 17.5Ah (840Wh)
65 A+ grade cells
30A BMS
Aluminium case with USB
Pros
- Clean drop-in for the Reention Dorado Plus platform on Ride1Up Core 5 and 500 series bikes
- Real step up from 10.5Ah-15Ah factory packs
- Four-light indicator and a power button the OEM pack lacked
- Aluminium alloy housing and spring-loaded carry handle
- Seller confirms fit from photos before purchase
Cons
- Warranty terms unclear
- Two case lengths offered so the correct one must be verified
- Cell manufacturer is not disclosed
This is the pack I would put on a bike with a tired factory battery. It is a purpose-built replacement for the Reention Dorado Plus used across several common e-bike platforms, and 17.5Ah is a substantial jump over the small packs those bikes ship with. Owners describe the swap as straightforward, with the four-light gauge and carry handle immediately noticeable upgrades.

The 30A BMS covers full-charge and short-circuit protection, and the aluminium alloy shell resists the kind of cosmetic abuse that cracks plastic cases. Cycle life is not published as a hard number, which is the one spec I would want to see. The 13Ah version of the same case covers 624Wh if your frame is tight on space or weight.
Service is the standout. Buyers describe sellers confirming fit from photos and measurements before the order is placed, and swapping out a faulty unit on request. That kind of hands-on support is rarer than it should be in this category.

Who should buy this pack
Anyone whose bike uses the Reention Dorado Plus cradle and who wants more range than the factory pack without rewiring. It suits commuting and weekend touring riders who want one pack to do both jobs, and the 840Wh figure gives real headroom over a 600Wh original.
Who should skip it
Riders on other platforms, since the case is not universal. Also skip it if you need a documented cell brand or a written cycle-life figure, because neither is published. Verify which of the two case lengths you need before ordering.
2. Varstrom 52V 20Ah – Highest Energy in the Roundup
Varstrom 52V 20Ah Ebike Battery – Lithium Ion Bike Battery for 0-1500W Electric Bike Kit, for BAFANG Voilamart AW Ebikeling Pexmor L-Fater E-Bike Conversion Kit – W/Charger & BMS
52V 20Ah (1040Wh)
30A continuous discharge
Per-cell fuses, dual BMS
1,000+ cycles
Pros
- Highest stated energy here at 1040Wh
- Verified on a 71.7 mile test ride with steep climbing
- Soft low-voltage cutoff avoids surprise cutouts
- Name-brand cells and a CNC cell holder
- 365-day repair or replace warranty
Cons
- Description dimensions are wrong
- use the manual diagram
- 11 lb needs a solid bracket
- Charger cord is only about 6 inches
This is the longest-range pack in the roundup on paper, and the buyer-verified range reports here are the most serious in the group. 52V at 20Ah works out to 1040Wh, comfortably ahead of every 48V pack listed. One detailed buyer measured voltage drop across a 12-mile ride, extrapolated roughly 96 miles, and later completed a 71.7-mile test that included a steep climb.

That climb is the detail that matters. The pack kept delivering below 46V where a previous same-size pack had already cut out, which is what the low-voltage cutoff setting is for. The CNC cell holder with individually fused cells and dual-layer BMS is the most thorough protection scheme described by any pick here.
It also fits mainstream 52V conversion kits, including Bafang, Voilamart AW and Pexmor builds running 500W to 1500W motors. Rated retention of at least 80 percent after 800 cycles puts it in the same longevity class as the better 48V packs.

Who should buy this pack
Long-distance riders, cargo haulers and anyone converting a mid-drive kit who want maximum distance per charge. The soft cutoff means you get the full pack on a hilly route instead of losing support at the bottom of a climb.
Who should skip it
Riders whose frame cannot take an 11 lb pack, and anyone who trusts the published dimensions. The listing dimensions are wrong, so measure the frame and check the manual diagram. Some frames, including the Biktrix Juggernaut, need a separately purchased mount.
3. Varstrom 48V 20Ah – Best Value for 960Wh
Varstrom 48V 20Ah Ebike Battery L*/G Cell Lithium Ebike Replacement Battery
960Wh (48V 20Ah)
40A sustained output
1,000+ cycles
USB, lock, LED
Pros
- 960Wh is the most energy per dollar in this group
- Steady 40A output removes power sags on climbs
- Seller verifies fit and connector type before purchase
- Quiet fast charger included
- Waterproof case with anti-vibration pads
Cons
- Heaviest pack here at 11 lb
- Some frames need an underslung mount
- Occasional reports of a pack that would not charge
Buyers of this pack tend to talk about what disappeared rather than what arrived: the power sags that forced early turnarounds on their old batteries. Sustained 40A output is the headline, and it works with motor kits from small hub motors up to 1500W mid-drives. One owner logged roughly 150 hard miles including 83 miles of rocky trail on a BBSHD.

The smart BMS guards against shorts, overcurrent, overcharge and deep discharge, and the cells are specified with a 1,000-plus cycle rating. The kit is unusually complete for this tier: case, bottom bracket, lock keys, charger and an XT60 conversion cable all included, plus a USB port and theft-proof lock on the pack itself.
Weight is the trade. At 11 lb it is the heaviest 48V pack in this roundup, and owners recommend extra strap or bracket reinforcement. Frames with limited clearance can force an awkward removal for charging, so measure your downtube space before committing.

Who should buy this pack
Riders on a 48V mid-drive or hub conversion who want a lot of energy without moving to 52V or 72V. The 40A output suits climbing-heavy routes and heavier riders, and the seller’s pre-purchase fit check removes most of the guesswork.
Who should skip it
Anyone carrying a light bike where 11 lb matters, and riders on frames that cannot host a downtube pack. A small number of units have failed to charge, and the seller’s response in those cases is inconsistent, so buy from a seller you can reach.
4. Unit Pack Power 48V 20Ah – Best for BBS-Series Mid-Drives
Unit Pack Power 48V 20 Ah Electirc Bike Battery – Lithiu-m Ion Ebike Battery 1000W 750W 500W 1500W 1200W for BBSHD BBS02 – LG4800 Cell Ebike Battery
48V 20Ah LG cells
40A max constant discharge
1,000+ cycles
Keyed rail mount
Pros
- Built from LG 5000mAh cells with a named manufacturer
- 40A headroom suits BBSHD and BBS02 mid-drives
- Retains at least 80 percent after 800 cycles
- Keyed rail doubles as a theft deterrent
- Every pack gets a full charge and discharge test
Cons
- Included 2A charger is slow
- One report of an XT60 pin shorting and cutting power
- Cable or connector style may need modification
Named cells are the strongest trust signal in this category, and this pack names them: LG 5000mAh cells in a 48V 20Ah configuration, 960Wh total. Buyers credit the cell pedigree for durability and report noticeably stronger acceleration than cheap factory replacements, particularly on bikes whose original packs had been damaged.

At 4.19 kg it is lighter than most 48V packs of this size, and 40A maximum constant discharge covers 500W through 1500W systems. The longevity figures are specific: over 1,000 cycles, and at least 80 percent capacity retained after 800. A keyed mounting rail and LED indicator handle security and status in one part.
Two practical warnings. The supplied 54.6V 2A charger is slow, so budget for overnight charging. And one buyer reported an XT60 pin failure that melted solder and cut power mid-ride, which is the most serious durability complaint anywhere in this roundup. Check connector condition at every service.

Who should buy this pack
Riders replacing a degraded pack on a BBSHD or BBS02 build who want a documented cell brand and a lighter pack than most 48V alternatives. It suits anyone who cares more about cycle life than about fast turnaround charging.
Who should skip it
Commuters who need to recharge quickly between shifts, since the included 2A charger is the bottleneck. Also skip it if your controller uses anything other than XT60 and you cannot re-terminate the cable yourself.
5. YOSE POWER 48V 15Ah Silverfish – Best General Replacement Pack
48V15Ah Electric Bike Battery with Charger 30A BMS Silverfish Ebike Battery
48V 15Ah (720Wh)
30A BMS with temperature cutoff
Lock and LED indicator
2A charger included
Pros
- Largest review base in the roundup at 62 ratings
- Direct replacement fit for several 750W-1000W bikes
- Box includes charger
- holder base
- keys and spare fuses
- Built-in lock and LED state-of-charge readout
- 18-month warranty
Cons
- Some bikes need bracket modification or soldered rewire
- Not compatible with Nakto and Heybike despite generic claims
- A minority report difficulty reaching support
At 720Wh this is not the biggest pack here, but it has the deepest evidence base and one of the most complete boxes. The battery, holder base, 54.6V 2A charger, keys and spare fuses all ship together, which removes the usual hunt for a missing charger after the first long ride.

Buyers who measured their original pack report a clean drop-in with matching baseplate holes, and they credit the pack with reviving bikes that had gone range-limited. The 30A BMS includes short-circuit, overcharge, overdischarge and temperature protection, and a security lock plus LED indicator are built into the case.
The fit claim is the weak point. It suits several 750W to 1000W bikes, including Rattan and DJ models, but not every frame, and mounting rails or soldered connector work is sometimes needed. The battery alone weighs 7.2 lb, or 11.2 lb as packed.
Who should buy this pack
Riders replacing a dead pack on a mainstream 48V bike who want everything in one box and an 18-month warranty. It is a sensible first upgrade when your original pack is the weak link rather than your motor or controller.
Who should skip it
Owners of Nakto and Heybike e-bikes, which the generic compatibility claim does not cover. Riders chasing maximum range should note that a 48V 25Ah or 52V pack gives far more energy for a similar frame footprint.
6. LFPNERYE 48V 15Ah – Best Budget Pick
LFPNERYE 48V 15AH Ebike Battery,Built-in 30A BMS,1000W Power Output for Electric Bicycles,E-Motorcycles (48V 15AH USB-5PIN)
48V 15Ah (720Wh)
30A BMS with active equalization
XT60 connectors
1,000+ cycles
Pros
- Entry-tier price with a 30A BMS and XT60 connectors
- Rated for over 1000 recharge cycles
- Curved housing sheds rainwater
- USB output charges a phone
- Box includes both XT60 ends
- keys and anti-vibration pads
Cons
- Listing mixes 48V 15Ah and 36.5V 10.4Ah model names
- XT60 is not universal
- limited water resistance
This is the cheapest pack in the roundup and, on the spec sheet, one of the better specified. A 30A BMS with an active equalization chip at this price is unusual, and the 1,000-plus recharge cycle rating puts it on the same longevity footing as pricier alternatives.

At 8.95 lb it sits in the middle of the weight range, and the curved housing is designed to shed water rather than pool it. The package is generous: mounting plate, both XT60 connector halves, two keys and anti-vibration pads, plus a 12-month repair warranty and a 3-month return window.
Watch the variant carefully. The listing name references a 36.5V 10.4Ah model while the headline points to 48V 15Ah, and that confusion drives most of the fit complaints. Confirm connector type and case dimensions before ordering, because a non-XT60 controller needs an adapter arranged in advance.

Who should buy this pack
Budget-first riders on a 48V mid-drive or hub bike who want a real BMS rather than a bare cell string. The USB output and included mounting hardware make it a good commuter pack where phone charging on the go matters.
Who should skip it
Riders who ride in sustained rain, since water resistance is limited and the manufacturer advises against prolonged exposure. Long-distance riders should also note 720Wh is modest next to the 960Wh and 1040Wh options here.
7. ShunTongDa 48V 14Ah for Rad Power Bikes – Best for Rad Mounts
Ebike Battery 48V 14Ah for RadExpand Bikes No Suport Upgrade APP v1.4.0
48V 14Ah (672Wh) for Rad mounts
30A BMS
Waterproof case
7 hour charge
Pros
- Purpose-built for RadExpand 5
- RadWagon and RadRunner 2672Wh is a big upgrade over factory packs
- Pre-fitted base and XT-60 connectors remove the wiring
- Light at 3.5 kg for a pack this size
- 12-month cell warranty with 30-day returns
Cons
- Does not support Rad controller firmware v1.4.0 or newer
- Check controller firmware before ordering
If your bike is a Rad Power bike, this is the shortest path to more range. The pack is built for the RadExpand 5, RadWagon and RadRunner 2 mounts, and the pre-installed base with XT-60 connectors means no rewiring at all. Buyers describe a meaningful extension over the factory pack for very little effort.

At 3.5 kg it is the lightest pack in this roundup while still holding 672Wh, and the waterproof case, anti-theft lock and LED indicator are all standard. The BMS covers overcharge, short circuit and temperature, and the cells are rated for at least 80 percent capacity after 800 cycles.
There is one hard limit, and it matters: this pack does not work with Rad controller firmware v1.4.0 or newer. That is a compatibility constraint rather than a quality complaint, but it is the first thing you should verify on a newer bike.
Who should buy this pack
Rad Power owners on a pre-v1.4.0 controller who want a clean capacity upgrade without opening the frame. The lightweight case and plug-and-play connectors suit riders who swap batteries often or carry a second pack on a rack.
Who should skip it
Anyone running the latest Rad firmware, and riders on other brands entirely. Check your controller version first, because the pack simply will not pair with newer firmware.
8. YOSE POWER 36V 13Ah for Jasion EB5 – Best for the Jasion EB5
Ebike Battery 36V 13Ah Fit for Jasion EB5 E bike Battery Replacement
36V 13Ah (481Wh) for the EB5 cradle
20A BMS
7 hour charge
18-month warranty
Pros
- 92 percent five-star share
- the highest positive rating here
- Clicks straight into the existing Jasion EB5 cradle
- Riders report roughly 15-20 extra miles per charge
- Spare internal fuses and sturdy packaging
- 18-month warranty
Cons
- Only fits the Jasion EB5 form factor
- One buyer could not fit the EB5 Max variant
- An internal fuse may need replacing
The 481Wh figure is the smallest energy content of any 48V-class pack here, but for its intended bike it is the cleanest upgrade available. It clicks into the existing Jasion EB5 cradle, and owners report gaining roughly 15 to 20 extra miles per charge over the original pack, or completing a trip that previously took two charges.

The 20A BMS covers short-circuit, overcharge, overdischarge and temperature protection with a 10A charging fuse and 30A discharge fuse, sized for 0 to 750W motors. A full charge takes about seven hours, and the 18-month warranty is among the longest here. Several owners carry a second pack on a rack to swap mid-trip.
The limitation is narrow applicability, and it is a real one. The form factor is specific to the Jasion EB5, and one owner of the EB5 Max found it would not fit and could not return it. Check the exact variant before ordering.

Who should buy this pack
Jasion EB5 owners replacing a degraded pack who want the largest capacity that fits the factory cradle. Riders planning long trips will benefit most, since the second-pack swap option turns the bike into an all-day machine.
Who should skip it
EB5 Max owners, and anyone whose bike is not a Jasion EB5. At 481Wh it also offers less headroom than a 48V pack, so riders who regularly carry heavy loads may find it limiting.
9. YOSE POWER 48V 15.6Ah for ECOTRIC Hammer – Best for Fat Tire Bikes
48V 15.6Ah Ebike Battery Compatible with ECOTRIC Hammer Fat Tire Ebike
48V 15.6Ah (749Wh) for ECOTRIC Hammer
Flame-resistant alloy case
Dual 2-pin ports
18-month warranty
Pros
- Direct upgrade from a 13Ah pack with noticeably more range
- Fits ECOTRIC Hammer and Seagull frames
- Aluminium alloy flame-resistant case
- Dual bottom 2-pin discharge ports
- Spare charging and discharge fuses included
Cons
- Taller and thinner than the original
- so spacers are often needed
- No charger included and a 3-prong adapter may be required
- Smallest review base in the roundup
Fat tire bikes chew through capacity faster than any other common e-bike format, so a straight capacity bump matters more here. This 48V 15.6Ah pack works out to 749Wh and fits the ECOTRIC Hammer and Seagull frames, giving owners a bike that feels new again with roughly 40 miles reported on a beach cruiser.
The aluminium alloy flame-resistant case is a sensible choice on a fat bike, and the dual bottom-mounted 2-pin discharge ports keep the wiring out of the way. Motors from 0 to 1000W are supported, and the 18-month warranty matches the best coverage in this roundup.
Who should buy this pack
ECOTRIC Hammer and Seagull owners moving up from a 13Ah pack, particularly anyone riding sand or rough surfaces where the extra torque demand drains a small pack quickly.
Who should skip it
Riders who want a turnkey install: the pack is taller and thinner than the original, so spacers behind the factory bracket or a different locking rail are often needed. No charger is included, and a small number of units have failed to take a full charge.
10. DICHOU 48V 20Ah – Best for Bike Conversions
48V Electric Bike Battery for Conversion Wheel Kit Rad Power Runner City
48V 20Ah for 0-1500W motors
40A rating
Factory tested packs
Keyed base with lock
Pros
- 20Ah at 40A covers mid-drive and hub kits from 500W to 1500W
- Every pack run through a full charge and discharge test
- Keyed base with anti-theft lock fits most frames
- Documented short circuit and abuse testing
- LED charge indicator
Cons
- Lowest average rating in the roundup with a 20 percent one-star share
- Listed battery weight of 0.1 kg is not credible
- Cell brand and cycle life are not specified
The specification is right for a conversion build: 48V 20Ah, 40A, and a stated motor range from 500W to 1500W. The keyed battery base fits most frames and doubles as an anti-theft lock, and each pack is run through a full charge and discharge cycle before it goes out the door, plus short circuit, overcharge, crush and extrusion tests.

What holds it back is the rating distribution. Around a fifth of reviews are one star, and with a 3.9 average this is the lowest-scoring pack in the set. The listed battery weight of 0.1 kg does not describe a real 48V 20Ah pack, which points to a specification sheet nobody is maintaining.
Cell brand and cycle life are simply absent, where better-rated competitors name both. If you are building a conversion and can specify a pack with named cells, you will get a more predictable result.

Who should buy this pack
Conversion builders who need a 40A 48V pack that fits a standard keyed base and want the reassurance of factory testing. It suits frames with a conventional downtube or seat-tube mount.
Who should skip it
Riders who want a documented cell manufacturer or a published cycle-life figure. The implausible listed weight also means you should treat the rest of the specification sheet as unverified and confirm the real dimensions before cutting anything.
11. Cymoye 72V 20Ah LiFePO4 – Best for High-Power 72V Builds
Cymoye 72V 20AH LiFePO4 Lithium Battery Pack Built-in 50A BMS
72V 20Ah LiFePO4 (1440Wh)
Built-in 50A BMS
1-year warranty
31.8 lb
Pros
- LiFePO4 chemistry is more thermally stable than NMC packs
- 50A BMS supports builds up to the 3600W class
- Highest rated pack here with no one-star reviews
- 1-year warranty included
- Compact relative to its energy content
Cons
- Very heavy at 31.8 lb
- Listing offers almost no specification detail
- Requires a 72V controller and is not a 48V drop-in
At 72V 20Ah this pack holds 1440Wh, the second-largest energy figure in the roundup, and the chemistry is the story. LiFePO4 has better thermal stability and typically longer cycle life than standard NMC lithium-ion, which is why buyers rate it so highly with no one-star reviews at all.
The 50A built-in BMS is the other draw. It supports motors up to the 3600W class, so it works for cargo builds, hill-climbing setups and large-frame bikes where a 48V pack would be underpowered. The 1-year warranty is modest next to the 18-month coverage on several 48V picks.
Weight is the barrier. At 31.8 lb it is by far the heaviest pack here, which realistically limits it to cargo bikes, large frames or DIY pack assemblies rather than a typical commuter e-bike.
Who should buy this pack
Cargo riders, heavy riders and hill-country builders who need more energy and more power headroom than a 48V system can give. The LiFePO4 chemistry also suits anyone prioritising fire safety and cycle longevity.
Who should skip it
Standard 48V e-bikes, because it needs a matching 72V controller and is not a substitution. Also skip it if carrying 31.8 lb matters to you, and note the listing is sparse on detail beyond voltage, capacity and BMS rating.
12. BtrPower 72V 45Ah LiFePO4 – Best for Maximum Capacity
BtrPower 72 V 25/30 / 45/80 AH Li Fe PO4 B-attery&5A Fast Ch-arger&0-3600W(72 V 45 AH)
72V 45Ah LiFePO4 (3240Wh)
50A BMS for 0-3600W
5A fast charger included
12-month service
Pros
- Largest energy content in the roundup at 3240Wh
- LiFePO4 chemistry described as non-toxic and fire resistant
- 50A BMS covering motors from 0 to 3600W
- 5A fast charger included at this size
- 30-day refund or replacement
Cons
- Bulky at 10.2 x 6.7 x 9.8 inches
- Needs a 72V controller rated 50A or lower
- Only 15 reviews so long-term life is unproven
This is the endurance pack: 72V at 45Ah works out to 3240Wh, more than triple a typical 48V 20Ah pack. Buyers gravitate to the LiFePO4 chemistry, which the manufacturer positions as free of heavy metals, non-toxic and resistant to the fire and explosion risk associated with conventional lithium-ion packs.
The included 5A fast charger is unusual at this capacity, and the 50A BMS supports motors from 0 to 3600W with protection against short circuit, overcharge and overdischarge. Ratings skew strongly positive at 87 percent five star with no one-star reviews.
The evidence base is thin. Fifteen reviews is a small pool, so long-term cycle life is largely untested in the wild, and the case dimensions of 10.2 by 6.7 by 9.8 inches mean it suits a purpose-built frame or a DIY pack assembly, not a standard downtube.
Who should buy this pack
Riders building a high-power 72V cargo, hunting or off-road setup who need multi-day energy from one pack. The 5A charger keeps turnaround time reasonable and the LiFePO4 chemistry adds a safety margin.
Who should skip it
Commuters and anyone on a 48V system, since it requires a 72V controller rated at or below 50A and a correctly sized case. With only 15 reviews, treat the long-term durability claim as unproven rather than established.
Buying Guide: How to Choose a Long Range Ebike Battery
Start with watt-hours, not ampere-hours
An ampere-hour rating is capacity without context. Multiply it by nominal voltage and you get watt-hours, which is the energy the pack can deliver and the only number that predicts distance. When comparing a 48V 20Ah pack against a 52V 20Ah pack, the second holds 1040Wh to the first 960Wh, and that 80Wh difference is roughly 8 percent more riding.
Aim for usable watt-hours, not nameplate. Multiply by 0.8 to 0.9 for the portion you will actually spend between charges, then divide by your measured consumption per mile. Riders who do the maths report far fewer surprises than those who read a marketing range claim.
Never exceed your controller’s rated voltage
This is the safety limit that stops an over-upgrade, and it is the answer to the most-asked question in the category. A controller is rated for a maximum voltage window, and a fully charged 52V pack sits near 58.8V. Push that into a 48V controller and you risk degraded performance, overheating and premature failure of the electronics.
Raising capacity at the same voltage is the safe upgrade path. A 48V 20Ah pack replaces a 48V 10Ah pack without stressing the controller, and forum riders repeatedly describe doubling capacity with a second pack as preferable to chasing higher voltage.
Cells decide cycle life, and cell brands are the tell
Where two packs share a voltage and capacity, the cells decide longevity. This roundup names its suppliers more often than not: LG 5000mAh cells in the Unit Pack Power 48V 20Ah, and an L and G cell construction rated past 1,000 cycles in the Varstrom 48V pack. Where a listing omits the cell maker entirely, that is a reason to look elsewhere.
Cell format matters less than buyers assume. The 18650 and 21700 formats both support automotive-grade A cells with 1,000-plus cycle ratings, as several packs here demonstrate. What separates packs is cell sorting, the BMS, and whether the pack was actually tested before it shipped.
Read the BMS specification, not the marketing
Every credible pack in this roundup includes a battery management system, but the protections listed vary. The strongest describe per-cell fuses alongside a dual-layer BMS, which is what you want on a long-range pack that will be discharged hard. At minimum you want overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit and temperature cutoffs covered.
Discharge rating is the other spec that matters. A 30A BMS handles most 500W to 1000W bikes comfortably. Packs rated at 40A or 50A give real headroom for heavy riders, cargo loads and hill climbing, where a smaller pack can sag and cut out under load.
Check the five compatibility items before you order
First, controller voltage. Second, the maximum continuous current your controller accepts, which must be at or above the pack’s rating. Third, connector type, with XT60 the most common here and a few proprietary alternatives. Fourth, the physical case dimensions and the mount pattern, since similar-looking packs often have different baseplate spacing. Fifth, whether the bike’s firmware or smart system will accept a third-party pack at all.
None of these are difficult to check and all of them decide whether the purchase works. Sellers in this roundup who confirm fit from photos and measurements before dispatch are worth favouring for exactly that reason.
OEM or third-party: the honest trade-off
The recurring forum question is whether to buy the bike maker’s own second battery or a higher-capacity third-party pack. The consensus leans toward a split decision: OEM for warranty, fit and smart-system integration; third-party for energy per dollar, and only when the cell brand and BMS are documented. The 18-month and 12-month warranties on several picks here are competitive with what some OEMs offer, but an aftermarket pack will not preserve a manufacturer warranty on the bike itself.
A dual-battery setup is the underrated option. Because two matched packs at the same voltage stress nothing extra, pairing a second pack removes the temptation to jump voltage and keeps your existing controller. Riders planning long tours should check whether their bike supports dual-battery pairing before buying a single oversized pack.
Red flags when reading a battery listing
No stated watt-hour figure anywhere in the listing or spec sheet
No cell manufacturer named, and no cycle life published
A battery weight that could not be physically true, such as a 0.1 kg figure for a 48V 20Ah pack
No BMS protection list, or no warranty period at all
Compatibility claimed for every brand of e-bike, which no pack delivers
Listings that mix model numbers across capacities or voltages in the same page
Charging habits that extend pack life
Avoid leaving a pack on the charger for days at a time, and do not run it to empty on every ride. Most lithium packs are happiest stored around the middle of their charge range, in a cool, dry place, and partially charged between outings.
Match charger amperage to the pack rather than to your patience. A 2A charger is gentle and slow; a 5A or 10A charger cuts turnaround time but generates more heat, which is the main driver of long-term degradation. Whatever you use, use the charger specified for that pack’s chemistry and voltage.
Finally, expect less range in cold conditions. Riders report noticeable capacity and power loss in winter and plan charging stops around it. That is chemistry behaviour, not a fault, and it is one more reason to size a pack with headroom rather than to the bare minimum.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which electric bike battery has the longest range?
Range is set by watt-hours, which is voltage multiplied by ampere-hours. In this roundup the BtrPower 72V 45Ah LiFePO4 pack holds the most energy at 3240Wh, followed by the Cymoye 72V 20Ah at 1440Wh and the Varstrom 52V 20Ah at 1040Wh. For standard 48V bikes, the Varstrom 48V 20Ah and Unit Pack Power 48V 20Ah packs both hold 960Wh.
Can I put a more powerful battery on my ebike?
Only within limits. You can raise capacity at the same voltage, for example swapping a 48V 10Ah pack for a 48V 20Ah, without stressing the controller. You should not raise voltage, because a 52V or 72V pack sends more than 58V at full charge into a 48V controller. Also check that the controller accepts at least the pack current rating, and that the connector and case fit.
Which brand of eBike battery is the most reliable?
Cell manufacturer matters more than the pack brand. Look for named suppliers such as LG, used in the Unit Pack Power 48V 20Ah, or a documented 1,000-plus cycle rating with at least 80 percent retention after 800 cycles, which the Varstrom 52V 20Ah and 48V 20Ah packs both publish. A written warranty of a year or more is a good secondary signal.
How long does an ebike battery take to charge?
It depends on capacity and charger amperage. The packs here run from 481Wh for the Jasion EB5 pack to 3240Wh for the BtrPower 72V 45Ah. The YOSE POWER 36V 13Ah and ShunTongDa 48V 14Ah packs take about seven hours, while the 48V 15Ah pack with its 2A charger takes around eight. A faster charger shortens the time but adds heat and long-term wear.
Are third party ebike batteries safe?
They can be, when the pack names its cell maker, lists its BMS protections, states a watt-hour rating and carries a written warranty. That is the profile of most packs in this roundup. Risk concentrates in listings with no stated watt-hours, no cell brand, an implausible weight, no certification and a compatibility claim that covers every brand of e-bike.
Conclusion: The Best Electric Bike Batteries for Long Range
If you want one recommendation from this roundup of the best electric bike batteries for long range, take the SDTYYP Reention Dorado Plus 48V 17.5Ah. It combines the highest rating in the OEM-fit group, the most usable energy at 840Wh for a drop-in swap, and a seller who confirms fit before the pack is built.
If your frame is not a Dorado Plus platform, match the pack to the bike instead. The Varstrom 52V 20Ah carries the most energy that fits a standard mid-drive build, the Varstrom 48V 20Ah gives the best energy per dollar, and the 72V LiFePO4 packs belong on cargo and high-power builds with matching controllers. Check your controller voltage, connector and case dimensions before you order, and size for your worst ride rather than your best one.








